As most of you have heard, Budwiser is now the Official Beer of Nascar and title sponsor of the Pre-season race now known as the Bud Shootout at Daytona.

For those of you who don't know what the Bud Shootout(Busch Clash) is it is a special race sponsored by Anheuser-Busch, Inc. for the winners of pole positions from the previous season. The only requirements for getting into this race are winning a pole at a regular season race, and carrying the Busch decal on their car.

The race is run the week before the Daytona 500 at Daytona. The 25-lap Bud Shootout At Daytona will be contested following a preliminary 25-lap race that will match winning drivers from the previous season's Bud Second-Round Qualifying. In 1998, the field for the first 25-lap segment will be composed of drivers who were the fastest in Busch Beer Second-Round Qualifying at each NASCAR Winston Cup Series event.The winner of the preliminary race will advance to the second segment, the Bud Shootout At Daytona. The preliminary race replaces the Busch Clash Wild Card drawing that was held each year at the NASCAR Winston Cup Awards Banquet at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The information on this page will be updated as the pole for each race is won.
Bud Shootout(Busch Clash) Former Champions 2001 Bud Shootout Eligible Driver List
Year Winner Driver # of 99
Wild card Entries
2000Dale Jarrett Dale Jarrett 1 Kyle Petty
1999 Mark Martin      
1998 Rusty Wallace      
1997 Jeff Gordon      
1996 Dale Jarrett      
1995 Dale Earnhardt      
1994 Jeff Gordon      
1993 Dale Earnhardt      
1992 Geoff Bodine      
1991 Dale Earnhardt      
1990 Ken Schrader      
1989 Ken Schrader      
1988 Dale Earnhardt      
1987 Bill Elliott      
1986 Dale Earnhardt      
1985 Terry Labonte      
1984 Neil Bonnett      
1983 Neil Bonnett      
1982 Bobby Allison      
1981 Darrell Waltrip      
1980 Dale Earnhardt      
1979 Buddy Baker      

Return to Race Page